Posted by: jinoe | June 12, 2007

My MATLAB Codes for LDPC

Updated June 22,2007

Finally, I completed all four LDPC MATLAB codes I needed for my thesis. I am studying a class of error correcting codes called low-density parity-check codes or LDPC codes. It’s one of the best codes which was developed lately and continues to attract a lot of researches.

A what???

Error correcting codes are important in communications. Imagine sending a text message to someone like “I LOVE YOU”. Due to noise present, the text message gets corrupted and its possible that the text message becomes a different set of unrecognizable characters. This is where a good error correcting code comes in. Once you receive the message, it tries to detect an error and correct it as the same time. This is a neat solution since it saves you from texting again and again until the correct message is received. Of course, this is just a simple and exaggerated example. But error correcting codes made a lot of things we enjoy today possible. Cellphones, satellites, cable, computers, mp3 players and a lot more.

I’m sharing my codes to those who are also interested in learning about LDPC codes. My thesis is devoted to studying the hard-decision bit flipping algorithms and I will be implementing it into a hardware. There are 4 types of algorithm I’m trying to study. Bit Flipping algorithms are the simplest decoding schemes available for LDPC codes. They provide a good trade-off between complexity and performance. These codes are good for those who what to start learnin about LDPC codes.

Here’s a list of the algorithms:

1. Standard Bit Flipping (BF) Algorithm by R Gallager
2. Weighted Bit Flipping (WBF) Algorithm by Y Kou, S Lin, M Fossorier
3. Modified Weighted Bit Flipping (IWBF) Algorithm by J Zhang, M Fossorier
4. Implementation-efficient Reliability Ratio based Weighted Bit-Flipping (IRRWBF) Algorithm by CH Lee and W Wolf

I placed a short instruction on how to use the code with the zip file as well as a few more links.

If you want to know more about LDPC codes, there are a lot of resources in the web. It took me almost six months to gather them and help me understand what my thesis will all be about. I hope my codes will help others who want to learn about LDPC shorten the learning curve.

Click here to download the zip file.

Responses

  1. Jinowee!
    Nagdugo ilong kag dalunggan ko sa ginbasa ko but I am understanding it through ur explanation on the early part of it!
    Amazing ka gd ya!
    Sales lang storyahan ta ha! hehehehehehe
    Grabe ka complicated gali sg imo nga thesis!
    Hope it does well on its review.
    mwahmwahmwah

    Sang una ko man ni guina basa daw pati bahulay ko dugo na ang nagaguwa. Pero sang sige lg liwat liwat basa na intiendihan man gd a.

  2. heheh, way ko may na-intindihan jin, hanggang math kag chem lang ako, :). anyway, good luck gid and best wishes sa defense, wow, you’ve traveled a long way, keep it up.

    Thanks Miss Beth. Tani matapos ko ni by July ang proposal. Not even half way there but moving steadily.

    • kindley send me LDPC codes which u have downloaded from this site…. i cant download it from here …. plzzzzzzzzz help me

    • Hi! They are not longer available. Could you email them to me? Thank you. jartuflo10@hotmail.com

  3. thank you for matlab code

    Thanks for dropping by. I am happy to know it will help others in their study.

    • kindley send me LDPC codes which u have downloaded from this site…. i cant download it from here …. plzzzzzzzzz help me

  4. ur matlab code is very helpful for my study in LDPC,thx a lot for ur work,and hope i can discuss more details with u later after i understand it better.

    • kindley send me LDPC codes which u have downloaded from this site…. i cant download it from here …. plzzzzzzzzz help me

    • Can you plz send me the file… thanks a lot….

  5. Great work buddy!!! i dunno how to thank u.. will get back to u after i finish reading.. thanks a lot.. not posting email id cuz of spammers..

  6. hey….nice work on ldpc….i am working on it as well….can i have a copy of your thesis?….

  7. Great code. I am working on LDPC coded MIMO systems using variable rate LDPC codes. I need matlab code for variable rate LDPC encoder. Possible??

  8. Hi,i wonder the performance of your code. İ mean how long does it take for decoding 1000 codewords for 3 db Eb/No?

  9. very good sir

  10. great ,
    i’am working on the ldpc coded for multiuser
    i need a matlab code source for this project
    bye

  11. also , can i have a cpie of your thesis and some doc

    • please send me the codes and papers related to ldpc ..
      plz

    • kindley send me LDPC codes which u have downloaded from this site…. i cant download it from here …. plzzzzzzzzz help me

  12. May be something is wrong but I cant download LDPC MatLab zip. Abstract is very attractive, just to solve my problem. Can you help?

  13. hi
    can anyone help me.
    i want to use ldpc encoder and decoder in matlab in the simulink of dvb s2 but using k,n less than use in the original simulink of dvb how can i chanae it pleas

  14. Dear Sara!
    I’m looking for LDPC encoding having check matrix H including US patents. But without result. MatLab codes are closed and not accessible for parametrs changing

  15. Hi Manokan…
    Can you send me your zip file about LDPC to my e-mail?? I don’t have a account in the rapid share….
    Best regards,
    Maria

  16. Hi everyone.

    I am looking for a MATLAB code which simulates hardware implementation of a LDPC decoder using message passing belief propagation algorithm. I need to observe the effect of quantization on the performance.

    HELP ME PLEASE IF YOU KNOW WHERE I CAN FIND SUCH A CODE!!
    TNX.

  17. Hi Manokan,
    I am grateful to have your code. Looking into it, I am still confused with the Step2 and Step3 within the function [u ,ite]=ldpc_bf(H,re,max_ite). Is it for the Weighted Bit Flipping Algorithm or a STANDARD Bit Flipping one? Would you please give me more information or hints? Really appreciate your great contribution.

    • Hi, I am unable to download code. Could you please send it to me by mail at shahid_ee@hotmail.com

      • hi..did u get te code in ur email?? if possible plz give me @
        mariavinith@yahoo.in

    • kindley send me LDPC codes which u have downloaded from this site…. i cant download it from here …. plzzzzzzzzz help me

  18. HI
    I need a LDPC code where gaussian elimination is done. I want to improve the performance using other techniques such as gauss_ Jordar, Jacobi, Gauss_Seidel.
    it will be very helpful for me if someone sends this code in my mail.

    sno2050@yahoo.com

    • Hi,

      DId any one send you LDPC code, Kindly send me too. Thank you very much. My Id is shahid_ee@hotmail.com

  19. Hi,
    I need a matlab code for error correction usingLDPC codes, will some one help me.

  20. buddy the rapidshare file is not available … please check it

  21. hi,
    i am doing my project on ldpc codes . i am unable to download from ur site , so can you mail me ?IT’S ver urgent ………….

  22. plz send me the zip file because i cant download it from here plz………
    malikamjad25@gmail.com

  23. Hi. I’m studying LDPC codes. Can i get the zip file…? plz
    jhk507@gmail.com
    thank you!!

  24. hey manokan,
    can you please describe ldpc code in short and sweet language.( we can connect though mai.)
    And in which particular field of science this codes is used.

  25. Hi Manokan,
    I tried to download your files but I wasn’t able. can you please email it to me.
    I am working on a class of LDPC codes called Reed-Solomon based LDPC codes. I have some problem on converting H matrix to G. Can you help me on it?
    thanks

  26. please send me the LDPC codes to my mail id…….

  27. Hi,I need matlab code for LDPC code in MIMO system. I speak English little, so I’am sorry ,so if someone speak french that help me much
    Bonjour,
    Je voudrai avoir votre aide pour simuler la performance des codes LDPC associés aux systèmes MIMO sous matlab; Merci
    Voila mon e-mail: tantelynomena@yahoo.fr

  28. Hello,

    The zip file is no more available for download.
    Could someone please email me the files?

    Many thanks

    Yogesh

    yogesh536@hotmail.com

  29. Hi! I would also like to check the codes. Could someone please email me the files? (which are not longer available). Thank you! my mail: jartuflo10@hotmail.com

  30. Hi Manokan,
    I tried to download your files but I wasn’t able. I wants simulated BER cover of phading channel use LDPC Code. Can you please email it to me! My email is linhlharfm@gmail.com. Help me! Thanks very much

  31. Hi Manokan,
    I’ve tried to download you file but I can’t. maybe the filed already been removed. Can you kindly emailed me all of those file.
    I want to simulate LDPC code over OFDM system. Hope your code will help me of the basic LDPC. My email ssobrun_88@yahoo.com.
    Thank you in advance.

  32. Hi Manokan, it seems that your link to the zip file is no longer there. Could you email me the file? Thanks.
    ronggangqi@gmail.com

  33. hi, please i cant download the zip file. could you please send it to my email. id appreciate it thanks.

  34. hi, i cant download the zip file. please send it to my email. id appreciate it thanks.
    hekayat9@gmail.com

  35. can I have the zip file please. I can’t dowload it. thank you very much.
    here my email: wa5wi5ou@gmail.com

  36. can you help me to get a copy for LDPC code … plzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz 😦

  37. please send me the LDPC codes to my email
    maroomer@hotmail.com

  38. hi, i cant download the zip file. please send it to my email. id appreciate it thanks.
    chrif.hosni@gmail.com

  39. I cant download zip file. Can you pls email it.

  40. Can you please send me the code to my email. Thanks

  41. thanks for your work
    but i couldn’t download it. can you send me by email please?
    also i need help by this article “Improved Iterative Bit Flipping Decoding
    Algorithms for LDPC Convolutional Codes” i don’t know how it can be applied..can you help me???

    thank you

  42. Hi,
    Can you please send me the zip file? My email address is: hassankhodaiemehr@gmail.com
    Thank you in advance.

  43. Can you please send me the code to my email. Thanks

  44. Hi;
    please send me the matlab ldpc code to my email.

    email address: imad.ezzazi@gmail.com

  45. Can you plz send me the codes and papers related to ldpc thanks a lot and a copy of your thesis please
    My email address is:
    amie2010135@hotmail.fr

  46. Hi please i nedd the matlab ldpc code ,can you send me .
    My email hanane.guerfi@gmail.com

  47. Can you plz send me the matlab codes related to ldpc thanks a lot and a copy of your thesis please
    My email address is:
    alekhya.samboju@gmail.com

  48. Hello, Can u please send me the matlab codes of LDPC.
    my email:Shirchee_0520@yahoo.com

  49. plzzzzzzzzzzzzz help me and send mea copy of your codes
    i d really appreciate it
    my email
    brahimi_amine@outlook.com

  50. Can you plz send me the matlab codes related to ldpc thanks a lot and a copy of your thesis please
    My email address is:
    eng.fatma.shokry92@gmail.com

  51. please help me i really need a your matlab codes of ldpc here is my email: kawtarbarri@gmail.com

  52. hie I am not able to download the codes.. will u please send it to me on my mail?
    vismaykansara@gmail.com

  53. hi, I am not able to download the codes. will u please send it to me on my mail? thanks!
    zhiqjiang@163.com

  54. Hi, I am unable to download code. Could you please send it to me by mail at rahmati.alireza@gmail.com

  55. Hi, I am unable to download code.
    Could you please send it to my email 1007092471@qq.com
    Thank you very much.

  56. hi
    every one
    i am looking for matlab code for mackey neal decoder matrix
    i have a code but i donot understand what values of ‘v’ and ‘h’ to be used i mean whether to tak it as vector or scaler can any one help if i send the code

  57. Algorithm 1 MacKay Neal LDPC Codes
    1: procedure MN CONSTRUCTION(n,r,v,h) ⊲ Required length, rate and
    degree distributions
    2: H = all zero n(1 − r) × n matrix ⊲ Initialization
    3: α = [];
    4: for i = 1 : max(v) do
    5: for j = 1 : vi × n do
    6: α = [α, i]
    7: end for
    8: end for
    9: β = []
    10: for i = 1 : max(h) do
    11: for j = 1 : hi × m do
    12: β = [β, i]
    13: end for
    14: end for
    15:
    16: for i = 1 : n do ⊲ Construction
    17: c = random subset of β, of size αi
    18: for j = 1 : αi do
    19: H(cj , i) = 1
    20: end for
    21: α = α − c
    22: end
    this is the code

  58. is there some one working on Nonbinary LDPC ? can some one email me the nonbinary Symbol Flipping codes ?


Leave a Reply

Categories

