Posted by: jinoe | March 5, 2007

To Err is Human and an ECC makes me inhuman

It has been more than a month since I started studying for my thesis.  Final 6 units of thesis work and Im done with my master’s degree.  How long will it take me to complete?It is the big question.  At the rate Im going right now, it can take me until the end of the year.

What’s taking me too long?  It’s understanding the topic.  Im trying to focus on what they call an error correcting code (ECC).  It is in most digital devices like cellphone and personal computer.  It ensures that the data or message that you are trying to send is error free.

And everything is so new.  The formulas, the notations, the equations, the symbols, are all new to me.  I have to read several books to understand just the introduction.  After one month, I can finally say I am comfortable in reading topics regarding ECC.  But one month is such a long time.

So here I am making fun of my work to make it interesting for me.  This should reflect how serious I am in my work so far.

A Field Programmable Gate Array (FPGA) Implemenation of a Quasi-cyclic Irregular Low Density Parity Check (LDPC) Encoder and Decoder using Iterative Turbo Decoding – This is a the new action-drama-comedy-horror movie of the new millenium starring Kris Aquino and James Yap.  A movie you should rather miss for something more important.

ECC – Also means taking it easy or else you have yourself to blame on this thesis.

Hamming, Golay, Reed-Muller Codes – sounds strange but these are just ingredients of a new exotic salad.  Just mix one part of each ingredient in a bowl and your done.  You may opt to add eggs with it.

Parity Check – a new mode in payment using paper and pencil.

Orthogonal Matrix -new design for braces and retainers that uses a 6×9 grid of wires.  Great to cover the entire mouth and more bling when you smile.

 If only I can use these definitions in my actual thesis.  I’d be done pretty soon.

Leave a Reply

Categories

